All minutes are draft until agreed at the next meeting of the committee/panel. To find out the date of the next meeting please check the calendar of events at your local library or online at <u>www.merton.gov.uk/committee</u>.

| COUNCIL<br>15 NOVEMBER 20 | 23   |
|---------------------------|--|
| (9.08 pm - 9.48 pm        | )  |
| PRESENT                   | (in the Chair), Councillor Gill Manly,<br>Councillor Martin Whelton,<br>Councillor Agatha Mary Akyigyina,<br>Councillor Stephen Alambritis, Councillor Laxmi Attawar,<br>Councillor Thomas Barlow, Councillor Hina Bokhari,<br>Councillor Thomas Barlow, Councillor Hina Bokhari,<br>Councillor Michael Brunt, Councillor Billy Christie,<br>Councillor Caroline Cooper-Marbiah,<br>Councillor Caroline Cooper-Marbiah,<br>Councillor Anthony Fairclough, Councillor Edward Foley,<br>Councillor Brenda Fraser, Councillor Jenifer Gould,<br>Councillor Joan Henry, Councillor Daniel Holden,<br>Councillor Andrew Howard, Councillor Natasha Irons, Councillor<br>Sally Kenny, Councillor Linda Kirby, Councillor Paul Kohler,<br>Councillor Edith Macauley, Councillor Peter McCabe,<br>Councillor Simon McGrath, Councillor Nick McLean,<br>Councillor Aidan Mundy, Councillor Dennis Pearce,<br>Councillor Aidan Mundy, Councillor Eleanor Stringer,<br>Councillor James Williscroft, Councillor Sheri-Ann Bhim,<br>Councillor John Braithwaite, Councillor Sheri-Ann Bhim,<br>Councillor John Braithwaite, Councillor Chessie Flack,<br>Councillor Kiaar Dresselaers, Councillor Chessie Flack,<br>Councillor Kirsten Galea, Councillor Ross Garrod,<br>Councillor Kirsten Galea, Councillor Susie Hicks,<br>Councillor Samantha MacArthur, Councillor Gill Manly,<br>Councillor Samantha MacArthur, Councillor Gill Manly,<br>Councillor John Oliver, Councillor Robert Page,<br>Councillor John Oliver, Councillor Robert Page,<br>Councillor Michael Paterson, Councillor Tony Reiss,<br>Councillor Michael Paterson, Councillor Matthew Willis,<br>Councillor Max Austin and Councillor Victoria Wilson |
| ATTENDING<br>REMOTELY     | Councillor Dan Johnston  |

1 APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE (Agenda Item 1)

There were no apologies for absence.

Councillor Johnston attended the meeting remotely.

2 DECLARATIONS OF PECUNIARY INTEREST (Agenda Item 2)

There were no declarations of interest.

3 REQUEST TO HOLD AN EXTRAORDINARY MEETING OF THE COUNCIL

UNDER PART 4A, SECTION 3.1(C) OF THE COUNCIL'S CONSTITUTION (Agenda Item 3)

The report was moved by Councillor Christie and seconded by Councillor Judge.

The Conservative amendment as set out in agenda item 5 was moved by Councillor Austin and seconded by Councillor Barlow.

The Liberal Democrat amendment as set out in agenda item 5 was moved by Councillor MacArthur and seconded by Councillor Fairclough.

Councillor Hall and Councillor Kohler also spoke on the item.

As six members of the Council requested that a recorded vote be taken on the vote on the Liberal Democrat amendment, a roll call was taken and the votes were as follows:

Votes in Favour (25): Councillors Austin, Barlow, Bokhari, Braithwaite, Cox, Dresselaers, Fairclough, Flack, Foley, Galea, Gould, Hall, Hicks, Holden, Howard, Kohler, MacArthur, McGrath, McLean, Oliver, Page, Paterson, Reiss, Willis and Wilson.

Votes Against (29): Akyigyina, Councillors Alambritis, Attawar, Bhim, Brunt, Butcher, Charles, Christie, Cooper-Marbiah, Dollimore, Fraser, Garrod, Hayes, Henry, Irons, Judge, Kaweesa, Kenny, Kirby, Macauley, McCabe, Mundy, Neaverson, Pearce, Skeete, Stringer, Szczepanski, Williscroft and the Deputy Mayor Councillor Whelton.

Abstentions (2): Councillor Mercer and the Mayor Councillor Manly.

As six members of the Council requested that a recorded vote be taken on the vote on the Conservative amendment, a roll call was taken and the votes were as follows:

Votes in Favour (25): Councillors Austin, Barlow, Bokhari, Braithwaite, Cox, Dresselaers, Fairclough, Flack, Foley, Galea, Gould, Hall, Hicks, Holden, Howard, Kohler, MacArthur, McGrath, McLean, Oliver, Page, Paterson, Reiss, Willis and Wilson.

Votes Against (29): Akyigyina, Councillors Alambritis, Attawar, Bhim, Brunt, Butcher, Charles, Christie, Cooper-Marbiah, Dollimore, Fraser, Garrod, Hayes, Henry, Irons, Judge, Kaweesa, Kenny, Kirby, Macauley, McCabe, Mundy, Neaverson, Pearce, Skeete, Stringer, Szczepanski, Williscroft and the Deputy Mayor Councillor Whelton.

Abstentions (2): Councillor Mercer and the Mayor Councillor Manly.

The report was then put to the vote and carried: Votes For -29, Against -25, Abstentions -2.

RESOLVED:

A. That Council noted the contents of the report.

This page is intentionally left blank